Voyage en Italie avec Niko Romito

ROME - ABRUZZO - ITALY

Niko
Romito***

In the heart of the Abruzzo, a three-hour drive from Rome, the three Michelin-starred Chef Niko Romito expresses his talent in a studding mountainside setting.

  • Two exclusive escapes imagined in collaboration with Chef Niko Romito

  • Tasting dinner at his three Michelin-starred restaurant, Reale

  • Cooking class in a gastronomic speakeasy in Roma

  • Wine, charcuterie and cheese tasting with the Chef’s suppliers

  • Panoramic picnic at Rocca Calascio castle

  • Visit the Vatican before opening hours

PRIVATE ESCAPES

From XXXX* per person

Based on double occupancy

Departure from Rome

From XXXX* per person

Based on double occupancy

Departure from Rome

*Prices may vary when booking depending on availability

The absolute lightness

Niko Romito's reserved elegance still hides the little boy who used to run through the streets of Rivisondoli with his sister Cristiana. She has always been by his side as his truest supporter through his exceptional destiny none could have predicted!

Voyage avec un chef triplement étoilé Michelin

Niko Romito used to study economics at the university of Rome and to dream himself as a high-flying financial analyst.

 

His father’s passing, lead him instead to take over the family osteria, the Reale in Rivisondoli, when he was 25. A decade and two Michelin stars later, he moved Reale restaurant to Castel di Sangro, in a monastery dating from 1512.

 

In the heart of Abruzzo, this self-taught genius keeps building his "empire of taste": the Accademia Romito, a cooking school that trains about thirty students each year, and the Laboratorio where he conducts his research on bread - under the brand name PANE, and exports his bread, biscuits, panettoni, pandolci all over the world!

Castel di Sangro will also serve as a launching pad for his creative Spazio restaurants in Rome and Milan and for ALT, a “landing station of taste” for healthy made in Italy fast food for travellers.

 

In his restaurant Reale, Niko Romito focuses on pure and light cuisine where “the challenge is not to add ingredients, but take them away!

 

Niko Romito's obsessive quest for simplicity, while respecting tradition, lead him to his three Michelin stars. This ideal also helps him define the new codes of Italian cuisine where taste and intensity of flavors prevail.

La poésie de la cuisine du Chef Niko Romito
Chef's Escape NR3.jpg

Meeting Niko

As I was heading to Abruzzo to meet Niko Romito, a legend of Italian gastronomy, I was totally excited! I was nervous as well. How should I address someone that impressive? How should I interview him without being trite? How should I capture the essence of his work and share it with gourmet travellers who choose L’Hedonist to get a glimpse into his universe?

He sat under the shade of the centennial tree that is the emblem and talisman of Casadonna – just as he did that night of 2009 when he decided to buy this medieval site and settle his new restaurant, Laboratorio, cooking school there…

 

I was barefoot on the grass, the sole of my feet anchored in the soil of Abruzzo that is so dear to Niko Romito. I don’t think anyone ever interviewed the Chef barefoot! It made him smile and his eyes gleamed impishly.

Niko Romito 3 étoiles Michelin & Juliana Angotti
Chef étoilé Niko Romito, un voyage L'Hedonist

He told me then of his childhood, the long walks he used to take up in the mountains with his beloved grandfather who knew the land like the back of his hand; of what bread means to him; of his old friends – winemakers, butchers, cheesemakers whose wonderful products you’ll taste during your trip.

 

Italy is full of hidden gems. I wish this trip in Niko Romito’s Abruzzo will bring you as much deep emotions as it did for me.

 

Juliana Angotti, founder of L’Hedonist.

Voyage en Italie avec Niko Romito

ROME - ABRUZZES - ITALIE

Niko
Romito***

C’est au cœur des Abruzzes, à trois heures de Rome, que le Chef triplement étoilé Niko Romito déploie tout son talent dans un décor impressionnant de montagnes escarpées.

  • Deux voyages exclusifs imaginés avec le Chef Niko Romito

  • Dîner dégustation au Reale, son restaurant triplement étoilé

  • Cours de cuisine dans un speakeasy gastronomique à Rome

  • Dégustation des vins, charcuterie et fromages des fournisseurs du Chef

  • Pique-nique panoramique au pied du château de Rocca Calascio

  • Visite du Vatican en dehors des heures d’ouverture

VOYAGES PRIVÉS

À partir de XXXX € par personne*

en chambre double

Au départ de Rome

À partir de XXXX € par personne*

en chambre double

Au départ de Rome

* Prix susceptible de modification au moment de la réservation selon disponibilités.

L’absolue légèreté

Sous l’élégance réservée de Niko Romito se cache encore le petit garçon qui courait dans les rues du village de Rivisondoli avec sa sœur Cristiana. Fidèle parmi les fidèles, elle l’accompagne depuis toujours dans ce parcours exceptionnel auquel rien ne le prédestinait

Voyage avec un chef triplement étoilé Michelin

Car Niko Romito, étudiant en économie à Rome, se rêvait financier de haut vol.

 

Pourtant, à la mort de son père, il reprend à 25 ans l’osteria familiale, le Reale à Rivisondoli. Une décennie et deux étoiles Michelin plus tard, il s’installe à Castel di Sangro dans un monastère datant de 1512.

 

Au cœur des Abruzzes, ce surdoué autodidacte va construire son "empire du goût" : l’Accademia Romito, école de cuisine qui forme chaque année une trentaine d’élèves puis le Laboratorio où il mène ses recherches sur le pain - sous la marque PANE - et exporte son pain, ses biscuits, ses panettoni et ses pandolci dans le monde entier !

Castel di Sangro servira aussi de plate-forme de lancement pour ses tables créatives Spazio à Rome ou Milan; puis ALT, "station du goût" pour des repas rapides, de qualité et légers, made in Italy.

 

C’est dans son restaurant Reale que Niko Romito se concentre sur une cuisine où "le plus difficile, n'est pas d'ajouter mais d'enlever ! " dans un souci constant d’épure et de légèreté.

 

Niko Romito, c’est une quête obsessionnelle de la simplicité tout en respectant la tradition. Un idéal qui lui a permis de décrocher trois étoiles Michelin et de définir les nouveaux codes d’une cuisine italienne où le goût et l’intensité des saveurs sont essentiels

La poésie de la cuisine du Chef Niko Romito
Chef's Escape NR3.jpg

Ma rencontre
avec Niko

En partant dans les Abruzzes pour rencontrer Niko Romito, monument de la gastronomie italienne, j’étais totalement exaltée ! J’avais le trac aussi. Comment s'adresser à un homme aussi impressionnant, comment l’interviewer sans dire de banalités, comment capter l’essence de son travail et la transmettre ensuite aux voyageurs gastronomes qui voyagent avec L’Hedonist pour découvrir son univers ?

Il s’est assis sous son arbre multi-centenaire protecteur, emblème de Casadonna – exactement comme il l’a fait un soir de 2009, lorsqu’il a décidé d’acheter ce lieu médiéval et d’y installer son nouveau restaurant, son Laboratorio, son école de cuisine…  

 

Moi, j’étais pieds nus sur l’herbe, les pieds ancrés dans la terre, la terre des Abruzzes, si chère à Niko Romito. Je pense que personne n’a jamais interviewé le Chef pieds nus ! Ça l’a fait sourire et ses yeux espiègles ont pétillé.

Niko Romito 3 étoiles Michelin & Juliana Angotti
Chef étoilé Niko Romito, un voyage L'Hedonist

Alors il m’a raconté son enfance, ses longues promenades dans les montagnes avec son grand-père adoré qui les connaissait par cœur ; la symbolique du pain ; ses amis de longue date – vignerons, charcutiers, fromagers dont vous allez goûter les merveilleux produits au cours de votre voyage.

 

L’Italie recèle des merveilles encore méconnues. Que ce voyage dans les Abruzzes de Niko Romito vous procure des émotions pérennes, comme cela a été le cas pour moi.

 

Juliana Angotti, fondatrice de L’Hedonist